Bringing Back The Teacher T-Shirt

I love teaching apparel. You have to understand that when I first began teaching it was the early 90’s. Everybody was doing it. But I really liked the clothing, I even had socks. Alright, yes.  I had earrings and bracelets as well.

Fast forward to 2001 and I found myself slowly not wearing them as much. Then came the day I wore the sweater. It was a killer sweater with apples, numbers, and math symbols. I rocked that sweater. Or so I thought until one of my fellow teachers openly mocked my apparel on several occasions. Then I started noticing no one else in my new school really wore that kind of thing on a regular basis. I gave in.  Packed my sweaters and shirts away. But no more. I’m bringing back my teacher shirts.

Now I hadn’t gone completely cold turkey. We had our staff shirts we wore each year. But that was different. I didn’t get to choose what was on the shirt. The closest I came to choosing was the PTA spirit wear. Well, that’s all been changing. I’m bringing back my teaching personality.

Why the shirts? They let me express either a view or my pride in being a teacher. For too long teachers have come under attack or have become political sound bites. No more. I’m proud to be a teacher and I’m going to show it.

Below are my current favorites. I have several more on my shopping list. What teacher shirts are in your closet?

I wore this on vacation a few years back. While at a McDonald’s several senior citizens raised their hands as I was walking by and thanked me for being a teacher.

My first EdCamp ever and then my first EdCamp in the great state of Kansas.

Love EdCamps! This year I’m attending virtual EdCamp.

This year I became a Front Row Ambassador. It’s a great Math and ELA program. Check them out at http://www.frontrowed.com.

Best book I’ve read all year. Very inspiring. Check out their website and join the conversation at http://www.kidsdeserveit.com.

Leave a Reply

