Flipping The Back-To-School Night Experience 

img_4493

Don’t let the title fool you. Flipping the Back-to-School Night or Parent Information Night doesn’t mean you won’t be meeting with parents and students.  Think about it, though. You are often required to share things from your school that eat up precious time, and that could have easily been shared differently. Or, you have your own agenda items that don’t really  require a face-to-face meeting. Here’s what I propose.  Flip these events.

First, think about all those things you share that are more procedural in nature and create videos for them. A couple of years ago, as a project for a class I was taking, I created a video showing the components of, and how to use the homework folder. Parents loved it!

Video Ideas

  1. Homework Folder 
  2. Planner or agenda
  3. Explaining class website/learning management system
  4. Reading/math calendar
  5. How to order books on http://www.scholastic.com
  6. Modeling how to send in money
  7. Picking up kids in the car loop
  8. Walk parents through how your newsletter is set up and what information they will find
  9. Tour of the classroom 

What video ideas would you include?

The car loop and homework folders would be actual video creations. The car loop would be more of an iMovie.  Wouldn’t it be fun to get staff and students involved in this one?  For the homework folder I used the Explain Everything app and then uploaded to YouTube. The rest could be made using a screen capturing tool. I’ve used Screencastify in the past. My current favorite is the Chrome extension, Snag It.  You could still upload all these to YouTube to make them easily accessible to everyone.  IF you really wan to go all out, embed a quiz for their understanding using the Zaption or Edupuzzle apps. The key is to use what you like, or maybe use this as a way to try out a new program or app.

Now, once the videos are made, you need to think about how you will share them. I already use SMORE as my newsletter, so I plan to use it to send home the links they may need to refer to over the year. This would be my back-to-school edition. In addition, I’d post on my website or LMS as well. Now if I need to remind parents or students of a procedure, I can easily send out the video.

Go a step further by creating QR codes and print them on card stock. I actually put the QR code for the homework folder video on the folder itself.  Again, I had lots of positive feedback from doing this.  If you print them on  cards they are then available to scan for home use. You can even have a page of QR codes or have each on a ring for families to take home that night.

You may still be asking how this is really flipping these events at all.  Well, what if you send these links or QR codes out at your Back-to-School or Meet Your Teacher Night?   If parents are unable to attend, send them out in your first few newsletters. Then, ask parents to look at them before returning to school for your formal information night.  This way, parents can view and digest the information leaving more time for them to ask the specific questions they may have.  Too often parents are given so much information in one night that they really don’t know what questions they have until they’ve left.  By asking them to view the videos and come armed with questions, the night can be so much more productive.  Parents can actually get the information they are really wanting.  It may even set the stage for a more collaborative relationship.  And, yes, not all parents will view the videos or even attend information night.  Don’t let that stop you.  If you want to do this, just go for it.  This will be my first year to try this.  I’m going to make mistakes.  I’ll learn from them and make it better for the next time.  I just want to provide my families with as much information as I can in a format that works for them.

I’ll be posting my resources as I make them in order to provide you with some examples and even get some constructive feedback.  I’d love to hear from you if you’ve already tried this or after you try it yourself.  Technology is all around us.  Let’s use it to improve communication and connections with our school families.

2 thoughts on “Flipping The Back-To-School Night Experience 

Leave a Reply

