Join The #DigiLitChallenge

 

Connecting to fellow educators means more than responding, retweeting, or even favoriting (Real word? Well, it is now.) a Tweet. It means when they ask for help or invite you to a challenge they’ve created, you participate.

That’s what I’m doing this week with the challenge set by Margaret Simon through her blog Reflections on the Teche and on Twitter @MargaretGSimon.  I was impressed with her desire and resolve to reach out and create a challenge and not worry about whether or not anyone took part in it, but rather that she did it.  She took a chance and tried something new, just like we ask of our students.

Please read her blog for all of the details and how it came about.  The gist is that you take a photo and turn it into a piece of art.  I took the app, Waterlogue, that she mentions to create my work.  I then wrote my poems with the Skitch app for the trees and hosta photos, but switched to Phonto for the frog picture.  I am so glad she began this challenge as it provides a creative outlet for me. It’s getting to be a little addictive, and the wheels are already turning as to how I can use this in my classroom next year.

So, if you’d like to participate, hop on over to her blog to learn more and to find out how to link up through various social media.  Just be sure to tag her  @MargaretGSimon and use #digilitchallenge. Also, grab the button to use on your blog.  I can’t wait until Sunday to find out what the next challenge is going to be.

     

Leave a Reply

