Twitter, I Think I Love You!

Never thought I’d say something like that.  I resisted social media for so long.  What did I care what other  people were doing or what celebrities were saying?  I didn’t see any value in any of it.  Then, I was introduced to ProTeacher and then to Pinterest, or what I refer to as the gateway drugs to social media.  This opened up a whole new world to me.  I could feed my addiction to ABC’s Once Upon a Time and to all things teaching.  I was hooked!

In order to join Pinterest at the time I signed up for Twitter and thought I’d never use it.  Then, I decided to see what all the fuss was about and decided to follow Once Upon a Time and it just snowballed from there.  Now, I follow people, am being followed, and participate in chats.  My most recent chats have been #readingjoy and #tlap.  It’s one thing to follow a hashtag, but it’s much more powerful to join in on a live chat.  The first one I joined in on was quite daunting as I had no idea what I was really doing and the chats go so fast.  I have to admit it took me a while to figure out the moderators post the questions in advance so you have an idea what the live chat will be about and then it helps you prepare better answers.  For me, that enabled me to better be able to respond to other posters.  That’s where the real magic occurs.  Getting to interact with teachers from across the country and sometimes the world.  My PLN (personal learning network) has increased dramatically.  I now have one more place to go for ideas and advice.  Plus, everyone I’ve met so far has been incredibly nice and supportive. Because of #10summerblogs people have actually been reading these posts! In addition, I never imagined being able to chat with the authors of books I’ve read or am reading.  I love checking in to see what Dave Burgess (@burgessdave) or Kylene Beers (@KyleneBeers) have posted.  Dave is the author of Teach Like a PIRATE and Kylene is the co-author of Notice and Note.  These are two great books!

Now I’ll leave you with two quotes.  One from each of the authors I follow.

“One of the most rewarding parts of teaching is the personal and professional relationships we develop on our voyage”-Dave Burgess

“Isn’t it amazing how quickly a group can become a community.”-Kylene Beers

2 thoughts on “Twitter, I Think I Love You!

  1. Interacting through chats does really bring a whole new level of participation to Twitter. It’s a great way to interact, get new ideas, and learn! Thanks for being a part of the #10summerblogs group too. 🙂

  2. “Gateway drugs”–I love that! Reading the Twitter feed about a favorite TV show was my gateway to professional Twitter feeds and then professional chats. Now I have two Twitter accounts of my own: one for work (mrskriese106) and one for politics and fandoms (this one a false identity!).

    Teach Like a Pirate is something I want to read up on this summer. I have a sense of the concepts through Twitter, and it sounds like a match for me…something I know and do, but can focus and channel to even greater effect with the insight and motivation of Dave Burgess and the #tlap folks.

Leave a Reply

